What Death Means To Me

Death…

This word above is a scary word and has been a fear that has been gripping me for a long time and I have no idea how to make it find another victim or, better yet, dissipate entirely from the surface of the Earth. Some say that the best way to get rid of a deep, long-lasting fear is to face it, to encounter the thing that unsettles you, and once you see that you survived, to be humbled by it. And yet, I just don’t see a possible way for me to “encounter” my fear, for if I did, I would be dead and, I guess, that derives from the point that this saying is trying to prove.

So, how do I “face” my fear? Many have told me that talking about it and picturing myself in the situation of death, one in which my mind slowly eases off to where, I don’t know exactly, would help. But, that’s exactly it, isn’t it? The reason I fear death so. It is practically entirely do to the reason that I have not even the slightest idea of what to expect of death. I mean, death wouldn’t be nearly as scary if the process was carefully written down in a book, in full detail recounting the careful transition in which I will have to succumb to… But, that is not possible, for as long as someone discovers a way to overcome the powerful grip of death, no one will have a clue to what death stands for, really.

I guess, I am scared of the unknown and I am scared of not existing, for I do not see any truth in the whole haven-based theory and I simply don’t want to be erased, to be forgotten. For, someone once told me that a person does not die when a bullet breaches the core of their body, nor when a sharp blade slices it in half. No, a person dies, rather, when they are forgotten and I know that that is inevitable, for, even the greatest philosophers and the most important figures will one day be forgotten.

Knowing this, I fear, for, I can do nothing about the inevitable. But, I don’t want to fear because life is, well life and it isn’t different from another person’s life. The only factor that changes between the life of a soul and that of another soul is the way these souls choose to view the world, how they choose to interpret the situation. And, so, yes, one day I will die, but I will not let this fear consume me, and take away the good things that surround me right now, for they truly are glorious. I will not let death define me and I will certainly not let it spoil my life. For, it is the promise of death that makes life worth living.

With positive happiness,

Viki

4 thoughts on “What Death Means To Me

  1. ‘it is the promise of death that makes life worth living’ ♥
    I relate to this post on so many levels because I too have such an, at times, unbearable fear of death. It’s a topic I’ve wanted to write about for a long time now but it’s one I am still trying to figure my feelings out about. You are so right, there are some fears that we may perhaps never really be able to conquer, we may never be able to reach a state where we can experience that fear and feel totally calm and confident in the face of it. The fear of death offers some pretty big logistical problems for a start! But what we do have control over is how much we are willing to allow that fear to intrude into our lives and our ability to experience it fully and to appreciate and experience happiness. And I think you’re so right; I think our fear of death has so much to do with being forgotten, and also of not fully experiencing and living life. My biggest fear in life is to end it in regret of the things I wanted to do but did not achieve. So I think that is how we truly deal with this fear. We live our lives in such a way that when it ends we have done so much with it that we regret nothing and we won’t be forgotten, not for a long time anyway. And I really do think the way to do this is to touch people’s hearts, with kindness and love and sincerity, by being the absolute best that we can be. I definitely think that you are already doing that every single day; you have definitely found a permanant place in this writer’s heart! ♥
    “When you were born, you cried and the world rejoiced. Live your life in such a way that when you die the world cries and you rejoice.” Native American Proverb
    H ❤

    • Oh my god, the moment I read that post I rushed to get a piece of paper and some scotch tape and I started on the laborious task of writing this quote perfectly, cutting it in the best manner imaginable, and sticking it somewhere near me where all who enter my room could see. I love this quote and I will hold it dear forever, partly because it’s so beautiful and also partly because it came from you. I can not tell you how important of a place you have taken in my heart and I feel that with you, my heart expands every day. I’m so happy that I met you and even happier that I mean so much to you.
      viki ❤

Leave a Reply

